Sunday Snapshot: Life in Pleasant Hill Cemetery


On Sunday, Jim and I were itching to get out of the house and into the sunshine for a few hours. Our drive took us to the cemeteries of northwest Franklin County. Three old cemeteries–Kaub Cemetery, Centropolis Cemetery, and Pleasant Hill Cemetery–offer tremendous insight into the the hardships faced by the area’s earliest settlers.

Among the sad headstones for children long gone were the most amazing patches of roadside thistle in full bloom, the purple flowers attracting butterflies and bumblebees as the wind caught the fluffy seeds of the spent blooms.

 

 

12 thoughts on “Sunday Snapshot: Life in Pleasant Hill Cemetery

      1. Mr. V.

        Ever since the age of about 11 or 12, I’ve been on the timid side around most stinging insects. Back then there was a day I was playing some game with a few friends, and it involved running through the underbrush in a forest near where I lived. Probably GI Combat or some such; that was a very popular game. Anyway, while creeping through some bushes, I suddenly saw a black blur rush at my face, and the next second, I was filled with pain and my lower lip swelled to the size of a lemon (the size grows the older I get 😀 ). Got hit by a bee. Ever since then, I give them a wide berth. Seems I developed a fear that the next time, I’d probably get stung in the eyeball, and that idea never sat too well with me.

        That being said, you’re braver than I am….I would have taken that shot with a telephoto lens. 😀

      2. Diana Staresinic-Deane Post author

        I’m not a big fan of stinging insects, either. I was stung on both feet as a child and have been weary of winged creatures with stingers ever since. Ground hornets really freak me out even though they generally leave people alone. I found myself holding the camera a few inches from the bee and wondering how long it would take to get to the hospital. Stupid things we do for art.

  1. Pingback: Hiking The Konza Prairie « The Accidental Kansan

Share Your Thoughts

