Sunday Snapshot: Ol’ Marais River Run Car Show


Each year, one of the biggest historic car events in Kansas happens just a few blocks from our house. The Ol’ Marais River Run Car Show celebrated its 26th anniversary with nearly 1,800 of the most beautiful cars made before 1973.Β  My husband, Jim, my brother, David, and my nephew Joe wore ourselves out exploring Forest Park, where the cars were on display. Then, Saturday night, we had the opportunity to watch, listen, and smell them drive through town during their annual cruise. All of these cars are an amazing combination of art, power, and history.

I’m drawn to the cars from the 1920s, 1930s, and 1940s. My husband loves all things Mopar from the 1960s. My brother is into antique trucks. My nephew was on the lookout for Cobras. We all found what we were looking for.

The Ol’ Marais River Run show is also an amazing community event. The stores are open late. Main Street is packed with people watching the Saturday night cruise. People were on foot all over town watching for their favorite cars.

My favorite car, a Ford Deluxe. So simple yet so stylish, it looks fast even when it’s parked.

I shot nearly 240 photos. These are my favorite 120. Click on any thumbnail picture to enlarge it! Please feel free to add comments about the make, model and year if you know it.

8 thoughts on “Sunday Snapshot: Ol’ Marais River Run Car Show

  1. Mr. V.

    Wow, sounds like y’all had a really great time. I’ll have to note that festivity down for next year, sounds like an awesome event to attend. I love old cars, all old cars, doesn’t matter which decade. Thanks for posting this!

    Also, I love the gallery of photos you uploaded. Great shots! And I am a bit jealous of your photographic opportunity, of which you took full advantage. πŸ˜€

    Reply
    1. Diana Staresinic-Deane Post author

      It is an annual event and a big deal! We had heard murmurings of this event before, but until you see all of these cars driving around town and lined up around Forest Park, it’s hard to believe. Most of the cars are American, but there were just enough foreign vehicles to keep it interesting. Also, there is no cost to attend any of the events unless you’re actually entering a car.

      I’m really pleased with how the pictures turned out. My cell phone is a miracle.

      Reply
    1. Diana Staresinic-Deane Post author

      Photography praise from you is definitely a big deal! Thanks! It was really helpful that the sky was overcast that day, but I still showed up in plenty of photos by accident. πŸ™‚ I wish my car looked as good as these cars did!

      Reply

Share Your Thoughts

