Sunday Snapshot: Hello, Flint Hills


I’ve lived in Ottawa, Kansas, for over a year now. I love it here, I really do, but as I was driving to Manhattan, Kansas, for the North Central Kansas Library System book fair, I was overwhelmed by the beauty of the landscape. Recent and desperately needed rains have permeated the Flint Hills prairie, filling previously dry streams and greening up the grasses. There is something about this area of Kansas that resonates with me, and my heart ached just a little to realize how much farther away the Flint Hills are from my new home.

I took a moment to stop and take in the scenery from the scenic overlook on Highway 177 just south of Manhattan. The fog left behind by the morning rain did nothing to mar the view.

A breathtaking view of the Flint Hills from the Scenic Overlook on Highway 177 south of Manhattan, Kansas.

A breathtaking view of the Flint Hills from the Scenic Overlook on Highway 177 south of Manhattan, Kansas.

7 thoughts on “Sunday Snapshot: Hello, Flint Hills

  1. Tina

    Isn’t it Amazing I grew up in Burlington and moved from there in 1980. It’s hard to make people understand that view mist associate the whole state with 70, tumbleweeds & FLAT!!!

    Reply
  2. Angela

    We’ve taken all of my husband’s family who live in Ireland through the Flint Hills when they have some to visit. They all love it. It is a beauty unlike anywhere else.

    Reply
  3. Barbara

    Got my book today – had no idea this happened just outside Burlington where I grew up and I saw the name Ray Pierson, Atty. who was a good friend of my Dads. Am excited to the book!!   Barbara Jean Akers Smith

    ________________________________

    Reply

Share Your Thoughts

