Sunday Snapshot: Frosty Clover


I’m in the throes of NaNoWriMo right now. I’m behind on my word count but I can finally feel the rhythm of the story . It’s a weird sort of hope, like finally seeing the life preserver floating in your direction after treading water for hours and hours and hours and being excited about it even though you know you’re in the middle of the ocean and you haven’t seen a boat for days.

In traditional Kansas fashion, our weather has been erratic. Today it’s raining and in the 50s (exactly right for the stormy Kansas horror novel I’m piecing together), but earlier this week, we were waking up to temperatures in the single digits. Still. The morning frost can be magnificent and beautiful if you don’t mind standing still long enough to take it in. It shows us the details that get lost in all of the green of spring and summer.Frosty Clover

8 thoughts on “Sunday Snapshot: Frosty Clover

    1. Diana Staresinic-Deane Post author

      I am writing just about every day, but I am just not spilling the words out fast enough to hit the 50K word mark! Still, even trying has proven to be a good exercise. There’s something about having an unseen force saying, “BUT YOU HAVE TO WRITE SOMETHING!” to make you at least spit out a couple of paragraphs regardless of how tired you are.

      Reply
  1. elizabeth5713

    NaNoWriMo is awesome! Have you done it before? I’m a four year NaNoWriMo veteran now! It’s always so rewarding.

    I read your book, Shadow on the Hill, today. I loved it and couldn’t put it down so I read it all this afternoon. You wrote it so wonderfully! I live about five hours from Emporia, in Kearney, NE, so it isn’t too far away.

    Reply
    1. Diana Staresinic-Deane Post author

      I’ve never tried NaNoWriMo before! I didn’t hit the 50,000-word mark this year, but I did make healthy progress on a new project, so I’m still happy. And I have better ideas about next year. The biggest change: better time management.

      Thank you for reading my book! I can’t take credit for the events, because they actually happened, but it’s a lovely thing to know you liked the writing. I am embarrassed to admit that I don’t think I’ve ever crossed the Kansas northern border and wandered into Nebraska! I’ll have to put it on my 2015 New Year’s resolution list.

      Reply
      1. elizabeth5713

        I’m glad to hear NaNo inspired a new project! Id love to read more books from you! The way you depicted the historical events really created suspense and I enjoyed that.

        Regarding NaNoWriMo, I spent the last two Novembers finishing a project. Now I’ll be editing… Not my favorite thing, but it must be done! There are seasons of NaNoWriMo in April and July that let one choose the word count from 10,000 to 50,000. I really like the flexibility! It rather warms participants up for November.

        Best wishes!

Share Your Thoughts

